Dachs

[Deutsch]

Explanation of the Datenschlag Chronicle of Sadomasochism (DACHS FAQ)

Translation: Marianne Bowen, Black Rose


[Index] [FAQ] [Wish List] [E-Mail] [Search]
 [before 1800] [1800-1899] [1900-1949] [1950-1959] [1960-1969]
[1970-1979] [1980-1989] [1990-1994] [1995-1999] [2000-2004]


1. Overview

The Datenschlag Chronicle of Sadomasochism (DACHS) is a listing of important highlights of the history of Sadomasochism. Chronicle entries consist of the relevant events of international history, with a concentration on events in the German language areas. The DACHS only collects raw data with a minimum of commentary, to allow other works to build on the data. We chose the acronym DACHS because it is also German for "badger".
The first version of the chronicle was created by Kathrin Passig and Wolf Deunan from BDSM Berlin e.V. (a registered association) early in 2000 and has been continued since March 6, 2000 under participation of the SM subculture on the Internet.

2. Target Group

DACHS is meant for sadomasochists and non-sadomasochists, like researchers and historians, with an interest in the history of Sadomasochism. Basic knowledge of the terminology and proceedings used in the SM subculture (such as Top, Bottom, Switch, scene) are assumed, they are also explained in detail in other Datenschlag texts. The international target group requires at times very detailed explanations of the identities and function of people, authorities, or places.

3. Contents of this Document

By definition, Sadomasochism as a sexual inclination requires voluntary participation of the people involved. There will be no entries in this chronicle that describe non-consensual violence in sexual, religious, or other forms. The only exceptions might be events that have had an effect on the development of the SM subculture, or events that denote the first known occurrence of a certain practice.

Entered are events that are related to the establishment of SM groups and SM media, SM research, laws with an effect on sadomasochists, and similar related topics.

Since 1905, psychoanalysis has brought an almost infinite quantity of speculative material about sadism and masochism, many of which later did not withstand empirical investigation. Therefore we only enter psychoanalytical studies that have had a strong influence on how sadomasochism is viewed, or influenced research on sadomasochism.

The social, legal, and scientific surroundings of the other large sexual minority, the homosexuals, were often of great importance to the opinions about sadomasochism. The development of the homosexual non-SM subculture promoted the growth of the homosexual SM subculture, and had crucial impacts on the heterosexual SM subculture. For example, only the modification of the German 175 in 1969 made the rise of the homosexual SM subculture possible. Because of this we are recording key events of the non-SM homosexual subculture in the chronicle.

The SM subculture in the United States is ahead of the European subculture in many respects. To be able to compare we are recording events from the United States that may not be of importance to German-speaking countries.

Singular local events of groups such as moves to a new location are not entered. The index points to additional, more detailed time lines.

The DACHS represents collective knowledge on which later studies are to be based. Therefore events were entered where the appropriateness is questionable, to rather offer the reader too many entries then not enough.

4. Composition of Entries

Each entry consists of:

Date: For each year events with an exact date are specified first. Events where only the year is known are usually listed at the end of a paragraph.

Event: A short and objective description of the event wherever possible. Keywords are emphasized.

Comment/explanation: A comment or explanation might follow the event description. These comments show the event in a temporal or historical context or supply additional information. The comment does not necessarily originate from the indicated source. It may show personal views or it may not be verified.

Source(s): Specification of the sources for the event. Personal messages should include names and date.

5. Format of the Chronicle

The DACHS is created in simple, browser independent HTML. Porting to other formats or into a database is not intended. Individual entries have been kept as clear as possible.

6. Details of Entries

Groups: Date of the creation, date of the dissolution, renaming, important milestones of the development (size of, entry as association, public appearance). Establishment of groups in non-German-speaking countries are entered rarely.

Magazines and media: Date of the first edition, date of the termination, modification of publication frequency, censorship measures.

Persons: Important Sadomasochists or people with a substantial influence on the development of the subcultures. The entry of the birth date contains a comment explaining why a person was accepted.

7. Corrections, Comments and Supplements

The DACHS is kept since March 2000, under participation of the SM subculture. Readers may send corrections, comments, and supplements to dachs@datenschlag.org.

8. Questions and Answers

Why do you sometimes call it "SM" and then again call it "S/M"?
We maintained the way the original use was spelled for proper names like "S/M Depesche", "S/M-Szene Intern", or "S/M Suendikat Hamburg". In all other instances we use the more commonly used term "SM".

[Index] [FAQ] [Wish List] [E-Mail] [Search]
 [before 1800] [1800-1899] [1900-1949] [1950-1959] [1960-1969]
[1970-1979] [1980-1989] [1990-1994] [1995-1999] [2000-2004]


2000-2003 Datenschlag. This text may be distributed and re-used without express permission for non-commercial purposes, as long as the document is not changed and Datenschlag is indicated as the original source. Distributors of this text may not charge for the distribution, except for the cost of duplication and distribution. We welcome SM groups and other historically interested groups to link to these pages. Please do not copy the content of these pages into another Web project.

 

dachs@datenschlag.org

Dachs

Erläuterungen zur Datenschlag-Chronik des Sadomasochismus [DACHS-FAQ]



[Index] [FAQ] [PDF-Version] [E-Mail] [Suche] [Neuer Eintrag]
[vor 1800] [1800-1899] [1900-1949] [1950-1959] [1960-1969]
[1970-1979] [1980-1989] [1990-1994] [1995-1999] [2000-2004]


1. Überblick

Die Datenschlag-Chronik des Sadomasochismus (DACHS) ist eine Auflistung von wichtigen Ereignissen in der Geschichte des Sadomasochismus. Erfasst werden dabei neben den wesentlichen Punkten der internationalen Geschichte insbesondere Ereignisse im deutschen Sprachraum. Der DACHS sammelt dabei mit einem minimalen Kommentar Rohdaten, auf die andere Arbeiten aufbauen können.

2. Zielgruppe

Der DACHS wendet sich an deutschsprachige Sadomasochisten und Nichtsadomasochisten wie Forscher und Historiker, die sich für die Geschichte des Sadomasochismus interessieren. Grundkenntnisse über die in der SM-Subkultur verwendeten Begriffe (Top, Bottom, Switch, Szene, etc.) und Abläufe werden vorausgesetzt; sie werden in anderen Datenschlag-Texten erläutert. Die internationale Zielgruppe macht es erforderlich, zum Teil ausführliche Erläuterungen zur Identität und Funktion von Personen, Behörden und Orten zu geben. Langfristig ist an eine Übersetzung ins Englische gedacht.

3. Grundsätzliche Fragen zum Inhalt

Der Sadomasochismus als sexuelle Neigung beinhaltet per Definition die Freiwilligkeit der Beteiligten. Einträge, in der es um nichteinvernehmliche Gewalt in sexueller, religiöser oder anderer Form geht, werden hier nicht aufgenommen. Wenn das Ereignis Auswirkungen auf die Entwicklung der sadomasochistischen Subkultur hatte oder es sich um das erste bekannte Auftreten einer bestimmten Praktik handelt, machen wir schon mal eine Ausnahme.

Aufgenommen werden gezielt Ereigenisse, die mit der Gründung von SM-Gruppen und Medien, der Forschung zum SM, Gesetzen mit Auswirkungen auf Sadomasochisten und ähnlichen Themen in Verbindung stehen.

Das gesellschaftliche, juristische und wissenschaftliche Umfeld der anderen großen sexuellen Minderheit, der Homosexuellen, ist oft von großer Bedeutung für die Ansichten zum Sadomasochismus gewesen. Die Entwicklung der nichtsadomasochistischen homosexuellen Subkultur hat das Aufkommen einer homosexuellen SM-Subkultur gefördert und auch der Hetero-SM-Subkultur entscheidende Anstöße gegeben. So hat z.B. die Änderung des §175 im Jahre 1969 das Aufkommen einer schwulen SM-Subkultur in Deutschland überhaupt erst ermöglicht. Schlüsselereignisse der nichtsadomasochistischen homosexuellen Subkultur werden daher auch aufgenommen.

Die SM-Subkultur der USA ist in mancher Hinsicht der europäischen voraus. Deshalb haben wir zum "Größenvergleich" hin und wieder Ereignisse aus dem amerikanischen Raum aufgenommen, die darüber hinaus nicht von Bedeutung für den deutschsprachigen Raum sind.

Einzelne, lokale Ereignisse von Gruppen wie Umzüge an andere Veranstaltungsorte werden nicht aufgenommen. Ein Hinweis auf andere, detailliertere Zeitlinien findet sich im Index.

Da der DACHS eine Wissenssammlung darstellt, auf die spätere Arbeiten aufbauen sollen, wird im Zweifelsfall lieber ein Eintrag zuviel als einer zuwenig erstellt.

4. Form der Einträge

Jeder Eintrag besteht aus:

Datum: In der Chronik werden zuerst Ereignisse mit einem genauen Datum aufgeführt; Ereignisse, bei denen nur das Jahr bekannt ist, in der Regel dagegen am Ende eines Abschnittes.

Ereignis: Möglichst knappe und objektive Beschreibung des Ereignisses. Ein Schlüsselwort wird besonders hervorgehoben.

Kommentar/Erläuterung: In abgesetzter Formatierung kann ein Kommentar oder eine Erläuterung folgen. Darin wird das Ereignisse in einem zeitlichen oder geschichtlichen Kontext eingeordnet oder zusätzliche Informationen geliefert. Der Kommentar stammt nicht unbedingt aus der angegebenen Quelle und kann persönlich gefärbt oder unüberprüft sein.

Quelle(n): Eine oder mehrere Quellenangaben zu dem Ereignis. Bei persönlichen Mitteilungen sollten Namen und Datum angegeben werden.

5. Einzelheiten zu Einträgen

Gruppen: Datum der Entstehung, Datum der Auflösung, Umbenennung, wichtige Meilensteine der Entwicklung (Größe, Eintrag als Verein, öffentliches Auftreten). Gruppengründungen in nichtdeutschsprachigen Ländern werden eher zurückhaltend aufgenommen.

Zeitschriften und Medien: Datum der Erstauflage, Datum der Einstellung, Änderung der Auflagefrequenz, Zensurmaßnahmen.

Personen: Bedeutende Sadomasochisten oder Personen mit einem erheblichen Einfluss auf die Entwicklung der Subkulturen. Der Eintrag zur Geburt enthält als Kommentar einen kurzen Hinweis, warum eine Person aufgenommen wurde.

6. Korrekturen, Kommentare und Ergänzungen

Der DACHS wird seit März 2000 unter Beteiligung der sadomasochistischen Subkultur geführt. Für neue Einträge gibt es ein Formular; Korrekturen, Kommentare und Ergänzungen zu bestehenden Einträgenkönnen von jedem Leser an die E-Mail-Adresse dachs@datenschlag.org geschickt werden.

7. Hinweise zur Sprache

Auch wenn es eigentlich die Chronik heist, und damit die DACHS, bleiben wir analog zum Tier und zum Aktienindex bei "der DACHS". Der Lesbarkeit halber werden in diesem Text sowie in der Chronik selbst die üblichen männlichen Pluralformen verwendet.

In Namen wie "S/M-Depesche", "S/M-Szene Intern" oder "S/M-Sündikat Hamburg" haben wir die Schreibweise des Originals beibehalten, ansonsten verwenden wir die inzwischen verbreitetere Variante "SM".


[Index] [FAQ] [PDF-Version] [E-Mail] [Suche] [Neuer Eintrag]
[vor 1800] [1800-1899] [1900-1949] [1950-1959] [1960-1969]
[1970-1979] [1980-1989] [1990-1994] [1995-1999] [2000-2004]


Urheberrecht:

Mail an dachs@datenschlag.org